Nine Cambridge scientists appointed fellows of Academy of Medical Sciences

Nine scientists from the Cambridge region are among 59 biomedical and health researchers elected to the Academy of Medical Sciences Fellowship.

The fellowships reflect exceptional contributions to the field, cutting-edge research discoveries and the translation of developments into benefits for patients and wider society.

University of Cambridge scientists appointed to the Academy of Medical Sciences. Clockwise, from top left, E Di Angelantonio, J Rayner, J Rowe, R Horvath, S Nik-Zainal, E Miska, C Coles. Images: University of Cambridge

They join a prestigious fellowship of 1,400 researchers.

Professor Dame Anne Johnson PMedSci, president of the Academy of Medical Sciences, said: “These new fellows are pioneering biomedical research and driving life-saving improvements in healthcare. It’s a pleasure to recognise and celebrate their exceptional talent by welcoming them to the fellowship.

“This year, we are celebrating our 25th anniversary. The fellowship is our greatest asset, and their broad expertise and dynamic ability has shaped the academy to become the influential, expert voice of health. As we look to the future, the collective wisdom our new fellows bring will be pivotal in achieving our mission to create an open and progressive research sector to improve the health of people everywhere.”

Seven are at the University of Cambridge:

– Professor Charlotte Coles – professor of breast cancer clinical oncology, Department of Oncology, NIHR research professor and director of Cancer Research UK RadNet Cambridge

– Professor Emanuele Di Angelantonio – professor of clinical epidemiology and donor health, Department of Public Health and Primary Care, and head of Health Data Science Centre, Human Technopole (Milan)

– Dr Rita Horvath – director of research in genetics of rare neurological disorders in the Department of Clinical Neurosciences and honorary consultant in neurology

– Prof Eric Miska – Herchel Smith chair of molecular genetics and head of Department of Biochemistry, affiliated senior group Leader at the Gurdon Institute, associate faculty at the Wellcome Sanger Institute and fellow of St John’s College

– Prof Serena Nik-Zainal – NIHR research professor, professor of genomic medicine and bioinformatics, Department of Medical Genetics and Early Cancer Institute, and honorary fellow of Murray Edwards College

– Prof Julian Rayner – director of the Cambridge Institute for Medical Research, School of Clinical Medicine, honorary faculty at the Wellcome Sanger Institute, and director of Wellcome Connecting Science

– Prof James Rowe – professor of cognitive neurology, Department of Clinical Neurosciences, and MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit.

Two others at the Wellcome Sanger Institute have also been elected:

– Dr Trevor Lawley – senior group leader, Wellcome Sanger Institute and chief scientific officer, Microbiotica

– Prof Ben Lehner – senior group leader, Human Genetics Programme, Wellcome Sanger Institute.

Cambridge University Science Paul Brackley

Related news

popular today